49th SASA athletic meet concludes

Commissioner & Secretary N.N. Zhasa with SASA officials and winner team Viswema Youth Organisation during the closing of the 49th SASA athletics meet. (DIPR Photo)
Viswema, January 17 (DIPR): The 49th SASA athletics meet which kick started from January 13 to 15, 2011 at John Government High School Viswema with the motto ‘Send all athletes up’ concluded on January 15, 2011 with Commissioner & Secretary Soil & Water Conservation, Labour & Employment, N.N. Zhasa as the guest of honour. Gracing the closing function, Zhasa lauded the organisers for taking all the initiatives for the success of the meet. He also appreciated the village elders, government officials, frontal organisations for witnessing the meet and encouraging the athletes throughout the tournament. He lauded the participants for playing with sportsmanship spirit and further encouraged the winners who will be representing the SASA in the coming ASA meet and wished good luck to all the selected athletes to bring laurels to the area. He later gave away the prizes to the winners and also donated Rupees 50,000/- towards SASA and Rupees 5000/- to the pilots (escorts). During the tournament individual champion (men) was bagged by Vitsozol Sothu of Viswema village and Medolhou Sote of Mima village with 2 Gold medal each. Individual champion (women) was bagged by Krohonü Kikhi of Viswema village who won 2 Gold medal. Overall the Viswema village team won the team championship title with 67 points. In the freestyle wrestling, Mhashezokhol (Khuzama), Tepuneito (Jakhama), Swedevikho Zhotso (Jakhama) and Tesovisie (Phesama) won the first positions in the 50 kgs, 60 kgs, 66 kgs and 74 kgs respectively.
The programme was chaired by General Secretary SASA, Dzüvichüto while invocation was pronounced by Thono Kechü and vote of thanks was proposed by Michael Neikha. Others who attended the function included Ketsore Mekro Chairman Viswema Village Panchayat, Vizo Zhasa Assistant Branch Manager, State Cooperative Bank Kohima, SAPO, SAYO, Zhose Chaya former Japfuphiki Krüna Krotho Chairman, government officials and the public.