Morning Premier League 2020 kicks off

Morning Premier League 2020 kicks off
Morning Premier League 2020 kicks off

The 6th season of the Morning Premier League (MPL), which is being called LirunaS Morning Premier League 2020, kicked off in February 17 at the D-Khel ground, Seikhazou. (DIPR Photo)


Kohima, FEBRUARY 17 (MExN): The 6th season of the Morning Premier League (MPL), this year called LirunaS Morning Premier League 2020 kicked off today on February 17 at D- Khel ground, Seikhazou. 

Altogether 10 teams- Morning FC, Mustang FC, All Blacks, Morung United FC, Gethemgo FC, Gazelle FC, Vanguard Old Boys, Kohima Raiders, Merhulietsa FC and Unity FC will be vying for the championship this season. MPL is organized and managed by the Morning Football Association (MFA), affiliated to Kohima District Sports Council. This year the league is being sponsored by LirunaS and co-sponsored by Disong Enterprise and Blackberrys. 

In the season opener, All Blacks started their season on a high note beating the defending champions Mustang FC by a solitary goalby WekuLohe (Jersey No. 73).

Earlier, a short opening ceremony was held before the kick off of the match. In his opening remark, the chairperson of the program MoamarImsong expressed his gratitude to all the sponsors for their kind and generous support and that their sponsorship offered great encouragement to MFA and MPL in their endeavor and will contribute immensely towards their vision and goal which is to promote health and friendship through this football league. 

Speaking on the occasion, the special guest of the program BendangsunepLongchar, Youth Evangelist, KABA commended the players and teams for their passion and love for football. He also exhorted the players to instill discipline in their game and play for the glory of God. ApongLongchar, President of MFA then administered the MPL Oath to the captains of the 10 teams. The program concluded with a prayer by DeoHuprem, President of Kohima Baptist Youth Fellowship.

A group photo session was held between the players and officials of the match after which BendangsunepLonchar kicked off the match ball and declared the start of LirunaS Morning Premier League 2020.