NLA Speaker Sharingain nominated for Committee of Presiding Officers

Morung file photo

Kohima, June 10 (MExN): The Lok Sabha Speaker Om Birla has nominated Sharingain Longkumer, Speaker of Nagaland Legislative Assembly (NLA) into the Committee of the Presiding Officers ‘To review the powers of Presiding Officers under the Tenth Schedule of the Constitution and the rules made there under’.

This Committee, headed by Dr CP Joshi, Speaker, Rajasthan Legislative Assembly, consists of Dr Surjya Narayana Patro (Speaker, Odisha Legislative Assembly), Vishweshwar Hedge Kageri (Speaker, Karnataka Legislative Assembly) and Sharingain Longkumer (Speaker, Nagaland Legislative Assembly) as members. A press release from the NLA secretariat informed that a communication to this effect has been received from the Lok Sabha Secretariat on June 10.
The only other representation from the North East in such a Committee of Presiding Officers is that of Yumnan Kemchand Singh (Speaker, Manipur Legislative Assembly) in the Committee of the Presiding Officers to Examine the Matter of Financial Independence of Legislature Secretariat constituted by the Lok Sabha Speaker.

It is a well deserved recognition for the State of Nagaland and for the NLA Speaker, the release stated. “With Nagaland having its own share of Petitions under the 10th Schedule, his association with this Committee will be in the larger interest of Parliamentary democracy,” it added.

Click here to subscribe to
The Morung Express e-Paper

Click here to download
The Morung Express App