Parliamentary Committee  formed; role as facilitator

Dimapur, June 11 (MExN): The Nagaland Government on Friday notified that a Parliamentary Committee has been formed to discuss matters relating to the Naga political issue. The committee will play the role of facilitator in the ongoing Peace Talks between the Government of India and the Naga Political Groups.

The state government issued a notification through the state DIPR, stating that the Parliamentary Committee would comprise of all the 60 members of the Nagaland Legislative Assembly and the 2 Members of Parliament from Nagaland.

Chief Minister Neiphiu Rio will act as the Convenor, Deputy Chief Minister Y Patton and Leader of Opposition TR Zeliang as Co-convenors and Minister for Planning & Coordination, Land Revenue, Parliamentary Affairs Neiba Kronu as Member Secretary and all Ministers, Advisors, Members of Parliament and MLAs as Members of the Parliamentary Committee.

As for the Core Committee of the Parliamentary Committee on Naga Political Issue, the role of Convenor, Co-convenors and Member Secretary would remain the same. The members for the Core Committee include Ministers G Kaito Aye and Metsubo Jamir, MLA H Chuba Chang and Advisor Toshi Wungtung from the NDPP; Ministers P Paiwang Konyak and Jacob Zhimomi, Advisors Mmhonlumo Kikon, Dr Longrineken, and H Haying from the BJP; MLAs Imkong L Imchen, Yitachu, YM Yollow Konyak, Dr Chotisuh Sazo and Dr Chumben Murry from the NPF, and Independent Minister Tongpang Ozukum.

Click here to subscribe to
The Morung Express e-Paper

Click here to download
The Morung Express App