Statehood pioneer no more

Dimapur, March 20 (MExN): Former Deputy Chief Minister and one of the pioneer of Nagaland State R.C. Chiten Jamir passed away after a brief illness today (20 March) at 4 pm in Apollo Hospital, Kolkata. He was 85. He left behind one daughter and three sons and host of grand children.  According to information received, his mortal remains will arrive Monday evening and funeral service will be held Tuesday.
With the passing away of R.C. Chiten Jamir, an era has come to an end given that he was the last living member of the Interim Body set up in 1961 as a prelude to Statehood. Later he was appointed as one of its four Executive Councillors, equivalent to the rank of a Cabinet Minister. The other members included Hokishe Sema, Akum Imlong and Mr. J.B. Jasokie. The Chief Executive Councillor was P. Shilu who went on to become the first Chief Minister of Nagaland. Late RC Chiten was seen as playing a major role in the achievement of Statehood.
Former Dy Chief Minister RC Chiten Jamir passes away
Late RC Chiten hailed from Akhoya village and was born on 28th February1926 at Mongsenyimti Mokokchung, Nagaland. He was educated at Impur, Mokokchung and Cotton College, Gauhati, Allahabad University and his qualifications was M.A, LLB and LSGD. Late RC Chiten was an active leader right from his college days. He was President-Naga Students Union; Ao Students' Conference, General Secretary; General Secretary S. C. M. Allahabad University; Executive Member, World University Service.
He also participated in NNC and was a member, Naga Delegation 1957; Naga Peoples’ Council, Working Committee Member; Member, Naga Peoples' Negotiating Body, 1986; Member, Interim Body from Ao Tribe; Executive Councillor 1961-63.
Late RC Chiten Jamir was elected to Nagaland Assembly from Arkakong constituency – 1964. He was Minister Agri, Forest, Animal Husbandry, Industries and Commerce, Education, Finance and Revenue during the period 1964-1974. He was also Chairman, Nagaland Pulp and Paper Mill Company. A staunch Congressman he was General Secretary, Nagaland Pradesh Congress Committee 1976-1979; NPCC(I) President  1980 -1987.
He was Member, Commission for Scheduled Castes and Scheduled Tribes; Member, Expert Committee on Science and Technology for Weaker Sections; Member, Science and Technology Advisory Committee for the North Eastern Region. After a lapse of ten years he got elected to Nagaland Assembly in 1987 and was appointed Deputy Chief Minister in charge of Home Affairs in the Congress –I Ministry headed by Hokishe Sema.