Nagaland bye elections

  • Nagaland Bye Elections: Elderly, PwDs cast votes from home in Kiphire 
    Morung Express News Dimapur | October 28  In a first in the state, the election officials in the 60-Pungro-Kiphire (ST) Assembly Constituency has made arrangement for the elderly and People with Disabilities (PwDs) to vote from the comfort of their homes for the upcoming bye-election on November 3.  According to the Deputy Commissioner and District Election Officer Kiphire, the door to door collection for the process has been completed. “The PWD and the Eld
  • Nagaland bye elections: Training for micro observers held in Kohima
    Kohima, October 26 (MExN):  A training for Poll Day Micro Observers for Bye-Election to the 14 Southern Angami I (ST) Assembly Constituency was held at DPDB's Conference Hall Kohima on October 26. A total of twenty-four Micro Observers attended the training. According to a DIPRE report, the Micro Observers were briefed by the General Observer, SK Pradhan IAS; Deputy Commissioner and District Election Officer Kohima, Mohammed Ali Shihab. A and AEO Kohima Toshimeren Aier.&
  • Nagaland: DC Kohima declares poll venues tobacco free, bans spitting
    Kohima, October 26 (MExN): Amid the spread of COVID-19, Deputy Commissioner & Chairman DLCC Kohima, Mohammed Ali Shahab A has banned spitting at polling venues and declared them as tobacco free zone during the upcoming bye-election in the district.  The DC has notified all concerned to take up additional preventive measures to reduce the chance of transmission of COVID-19 during polling by banning of spitting and making the venues as Tobacco Free, a DIPR report stated. T
  • ECI notifies on exit poll for bye-election
    Kohima, October 17 (MExN): The Election Commission of India has notified that for the bye-election to the House of the People and State Legislative Assemblies 2020, there shall be restrictions on conduct of any exit poll and publication and dissemination of result of any exit poll during such period as per the provisions of Section 126A of the R.P. Act, 1951. Therefore, in exercise of the powers under sub-Section (1) of Section 126A of the R.P. Act, 1951, the Election Commission, ha
  • Nagaland: Medo Yhokha is PDA’s consensus candidate for 14 Southern Angami-1 bypoll 
    Kohima, October 15 (MExN): Medo Yhokha has been named as the People’s Democratic Alliance (PDA) consensus candidate for the upcoming bye-election to the 14 Southern Angami-1 Assembly Constituency, an NDPP official informed today.  Adviser to the Chief Minister of Nagaland & Secretary General Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party, Abu Metha said in a tweet that a felicitation programme was held today for the candidate.  "Chaired the felicitation program
  • Nagaland bye-elections: Kikovi Kirha is NPF's candidate for 14 Southern Angami AC
    Kohima, October 15 (MExN): The Naga People’s Front (NPF) on Thursday named Kikovi Kirha as its candidate for upcoming bye-election to the 14 Southern Angami-1 Assembly Constituency scheduled on November 3.  The NPF party has unreservedly awarded the party ticket to Kirha, an ardent party worker, to contest in the bye-election, a press release from NPF Press Bureau informed.  The ticket was handed over to the candidate by the NPF President, Dr Shürho