16th Imchaba Masters Memorial Open Nagaland Volleyball Trophy

IANS Photo

IANS Photo

Ozumi Volleyball team beats defending champions MH-10 to take title

Morung Express News
Mokokchung | September 22 

Ozumi Volleyball team were declared the new champions of the 16 Imchaba Master Memorial Nagaland Open Volleyball Trophy 2023 by defeating the defending champion MH-10 at multi-Purpose sports complex, Mokokchung, organized by the Mokokchung District Volleyball Association (MDVA) on September 22.

Thsuvisie Phoji, Deputy Commissioner, Mokokchung, graced the closing ceremony as the Chief Patron. In his speech he congratulated the teams for their dedication to reach the finals and hoped that more teams will participate in the future. He encouraged all the teams participating in the trophy, especially those teams participating from outside the district to become ambassadors of peace and friendship and to foster unity and understanding among the Nagas.

In a very intense and exciting final match, the defending champions, MH-10 could not stand their strong opponent, the Ozumi Volleyball Team. The debutant team proved their skills in the first set when they won 26-24. MH-10 easily sailed through to the finals with their toughest opponent being last year’s runner-up team Changtongya Volleyball Association A. They were tested by a young set of players from Ozumi team.

The defending champions came back strong, taking two sets consecutively, 25-14, 25-22. The fourth set witnessed some beautiful spikes and passes, keeping the crowd fully eyed on the game. Ozumi gave a strong fight and won 30-28 to keep the final match going into the deciding match.

In the deciding set MH-10 started strong with 4-0 the ball in their favour, but the team could not withstand the strong spikes of Wanglem from Ozumi Volleyball team. The team went down 7-8 in the first set of the deciding set.  Ozumi Volleyball team put their best and went on to win the match 15-13.

Three individual prizes were given: Player of the tournament was awarded to Reshitemjen of MH-10, Best Setter awarded to Imnaakum of Ozumi Volleyball Team while the Best Spiker was awarded to Wanglem of Ozumi Volleyball Team.

Earlier in the day, the third-place match was played between Peren District Volleyball Association and Chienino Brothers, Kiruphema where Chienino Brothers, Kiruphema won in a straight set 20-25, 20-25.

19 teams from different districts participated at the 16th Imchaba Master Memorial Nagaland Open Volleyball Trophy 2023 from September 19 to 22.