BJP alliance wins lone Manipur Rajya Sabha seat 

IMPHAL, June 19 (NNN):  The ruling BJP and its alliance have won the lone Rajya Sabha seat of Manipur on Friday.

BJP candidate Leishemba Sanajaoba, the titular king of Manipur, defeated Congress nominee T Mangibabu by four votes.

A total of 52 MLAs cast votes under tight security measures amidst the prevailing political turmoil in the State after some MLAs pulled out from supporting the BJP-led coalition government.

The BJP and its alliance secured 28 votes while the Congress and its alliance secured 24 votes.

The polling concluded at 4:00 pm. However, the counting was delayed after polling agents of NPP lodged a complaint with the returning officer (RO), alleging that MLA Y Khemchand of BJP and Ngamthang Haokip of Congress had violated the secrecy of voting by displaying their ballots before putting them in the ballot box. 

The RO, M Ramani Devi disposed of the complaint saying that there was no violation of secrecy. “I was present during the poll process and have reconfirmed the allegation through the video recording of the poll process,” she said, while adding “I am convinced that there is no violation of the secrecy and that the complaint is baseless.”