GOAL FOR PEACE: 23rd edition of NSF Martyrs’ Memorial Trophy

Organisers and others during the press conference held regarding 23rd edition of NSF Martyrs’ Memorial Trophy on August 11. (Morung Photo)

Organisers and others during the press conference held regarding 23rd edition of NSF Martyrs’ Memorial Trophy on August 11. (Morung Photo)

Morung Express news 
Kohima | August 11 

The 23rd edition of NSF Martyrs’ Memorial Trophy is all set to commence from September 18 to October 15 at Indira Gandhi Stadium, Kohima under the theme ‘Goal for Peace’.

Angami Students’ Union (ASU) along with the organising committee made this announcement during a press conference held at its office today. 

The Tournament will be inaugurated on September 18 at 4:00 pm with free entries exclusively for the opening matches. 

The yearly event, being organized with the aim to bring people together and provide platform for the young people to exhibit their talent, prizes has also been enhanced. 

In this year’s edition, prizes for the winning team has therefore, been enhanced to Rs 2.50 lakh from Rs 2 lakh along with citation and running trophy. 

The runners up will receive Rs 1.5 lakh and semi final teams will receive Rs 35,000 and Quarter finalists will receive Rs 20,000 each. 

Player of the tournament will get a 2-wheeler scooty. Meanwhile, best defender, best goal keeper, best midfielder, highest scorer and best custodians will receive Rs 10,000 each. 

The organizers also informed that the entry tickets are Rs. 50 and Rs 100 from night matches onwards. 

Inviting interested teams to come and be part of the tournament, the organized further informed that the issue of registration forms will begin from August 14 and will take from submissions till September 14. It has been enhanced to Rs 7000 this year. 

The following places have been earmarked for availing the forms- ASU office, Kohima, Magdaline, Coaching Centre, Lerie, Sports World, Kohima, Sports Paradise, Kezieke, Royal Enfield, High School Junction, G. Sports, Chümoukedima, Kiran Sports Dimapur. 

This trophy is organised in honour of two comrades late Kekuojalie Sachü of Kohima village and late Vikhozo Yhoshii of Kigwema village who were victims to the indiscriminate firing of the armed police from Alichen when the students fraternity on the 22nd March 1986 were on a peaceful duty call to the extension of disturbed area belt from 5Km to 20Km along the Indo Myanmar border and against the induction of Indian Police Service (IPS) cadres into the state of Nagaland.

In exercise to honour and keep alive the supreme sacrifices made by the two comrades, the Angami Students Union organises the trophy annually in memory of the two martyrs and this year it will be the 23rd edition.

In the 22nd edition, New Market FC lifted the NSF Martyrs’ Memorial Trophy after defeating Ura Uvie in the final match at IG Stadium. 

During the press conference, Convener Mhasimhalie Mathew Yhome, Co-Convener Khriezelhou Vitso, ASU president Khriesamhalie David Mere, General Secretary Vimeyiekho Vitso, Metebo Sote, Games and Sports Secretary and others were present.