Nagaland Polls 2023: Two octogenarians; 15 candidates below 40 years of age

Graph and table based on affidavits of candidates available on the ECI's website.

•    42.93% contenders 50 or below; 60 plus candidates at 30.43% 
•    Average age is 53.70

Moa Jamir 
Dimapur | February 12 

The age difference between the youngest and oldest candidates in the forthcoming general election to the 14th Nagaland legislative Assembly (NLA) is 60 years. This was highlighted in an analysis of the affidavits submitted by various contestants.  

The contenders included two octogenarians, while there are 56 candidates or 30.43% in the 60 years and above age group.

However, there are a number of ‘young’ contenders with 79 (or 42.93%) of them in the 50 years and below category. 

Accordingly, the average age of the 184 candidates in the forthcoming election is 53.70 years. The average age of the then 60 legislators of 13th NLA is 54.15 years as per an analysis by the Association for Democratic Reforms (ADR). It must be noted here that out of 184 candidates, one has already been elected unopposed and 183 remain in the fray. 

Young Turks and seasoned players 
Out of the total candidates, there are two who have just completed the 25 years eligibility threshold to compete in the State Assembly elections in India.

At 26 years of age, T Atsuba and T Thomas Konyak representing the Indian National Congress (INC) respectively in 26 Pungro Kiphire Assembly Constituency and 26 Tizit Assembly Constituency (AC), are the two youngest candidates. The party has six candidates aged 40 or below. 

A Epha representing the National People’s Party (NPP) in 43 Tapi AC is the second youngest candidate at 29, while the other challenger from the same constituency, Geihwang Konyak of Janata Dal United (JDU) is the third youngest at 30.

The Indian National Congress’s Akavi N Zhimomi (31) and Er Meshenlo Kath (33) representing Ghaspani-I and Kohima Town Assembly Constituencies respectively are placed 4th and 5th. 

At the other end of the age spectrum, at 86, the oldest candidate is Noke Wangnao, the veteran player from Tapi AC, representing the Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party (NDPP). 

The age difference between him and two youngest candidates is 60 years. 

With the second and third youngest candidates contesting from Tapi and the fourth candidates - Wanglem Konyak of the Naga People’s Front just 41 years of age, the 8-time MLA is facing challenges from 3 young contenders. 

Meanwhile, Pohwang Konyak (81) of the Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) is the second oldest candidate and contesting from 44 Phomching AC.

The third oldest candidate is the NDPP’s S Heno Khiamniungan (76) from 57 Thonoknyu AC while his colleague R Khing (73) of 12 Tseminyu AC and TN Mannen (73) of 23 Impur AC are placed in fourth. 

All together, there are 16 candidates aged 70 and above, while 56 of them are 60 plus. 

In terms of 10 year age group-wise distribution of candidates starting from 25 years, the 56-65 years cohort has the highest number of candidates at 61 or 33% of the total candidates. (See Graph) 
Among the parties fielding 10 candidates and above, the NPF has the youngest average of 50.58 years for 22 candidates.  The INC is in the second place with 51.3 years, followed by the NPP (52) and BJP (54.2). 

However, the youngest set of candidates is among the 19 Independent candidates averaging 49 years. 

With 40 candidates averaging 59.25 years of age, the NDPP has the oldest sets of candidates, followed closely by the NCP at 58.41 years for 12 candidates; 52 for NPP with 12 candidates and 56 for LJP with 16 candidates. 

Overall, in terms of parties, the Communist Party of India (CPI) with one candidate had the youngest average of 43, followed by 46.5 years for the Republican Party of India (Athawale) with 8 candidates and 48 years for the lone contender from the Rising People’s Party. 

The Janata Dal (United) with 7 candidates had an average of 49.85 years while the Rastriya Janata Dal with three candidates had an average age of 56 years. 

Age-wise Ascending online